fanfiction is great, FanFiction sucks

I love fanfiction. There’s just something about it that I really like. Maybe something to do with reshaping established canon into something else. It’s impossible to explain. A lot of people think fanfiction is pointless and stupid. Though I do not agree with them, fanfiction is mostly a love-it or hate-it thing. You’re either for it or against it.

I don’t like FanFiction, though. Not only does it have several stupid guidelines and restrictions, horrible administration, and an awkward design, but it’s also filled with idiots.

I try my damndest to write good fanfiction. I know I’m not a good writer, but I try to keep characters in character, strive for canonical and (if applicable) factual accuracy, and make a decent plot. But I might as well write crap! Case in point. Halogate, my Halo/Stargate crossover (under the name Chris4221). My chapters are horribly short, averaging about 1500 words long, and the writing isn’t that great. It’s not like it’s full of spelling errors, but it’s just not very good. I thought the plot out a lot, and spent a lot of time doing research (read: I wasted hours on the Halo wiki), and blended the universes together as seamlessly as I could.

Then some random guy (or very possibly girl) churns out a fanfic that’s longer and better written than mine. However, it lacks things like a (semi) original plot, characters in character, or a nice blended universe. It’s a horrible fic, but despite (or because of) that, it has more, better reviews, and probably more views overall. This really pisses me off. I guess people just like things that are written better, even if they make no sense.

I really need to find another place to post my stories. Right now, I’m tempted to write crap, because people will probably think it’s better. Maybe I’ll write the millionth Jack/Sam fic, even though I don’t even like that pairing.

I should take the time to mention one thing I really hate, a pet peeve if you will. I hate it when someone has a really good idea, usually well written too. Then they ruin it with pointless romances (shipping?) that shouldn’t be there and make no sense. Usually this type of story is full of factual or canonical errors as well, but I digress.

http://www.fanfiction.net/Stargate_SG-1_and_Halo_Crossovers/68/1342/
http://www.fanfiction.net/~chris7221

Tags: , , ,

One Response to “fanfiction is great, FanFiction sucks”

  1. NyNy Says:

    I like to think of fanfiction as a way to improve my writing skills. It’s not original fiction but you can still write your own stories through other people’s created characters and still start gaining an audience for how well it can be.

    A shame about your experience. You will always get the people who have good plots and writing style with less attention and the opposite with their badly written fics and tons of attention, it just happens sadly. >__< I hope you’ll be able to check out my fiction pet peeves, it includes some additional ones that you may not have talked about but I hope you will read and tell me what you think :) http://nynyonlinex.wordpress.com/2013/03/06/fiction-pet-peeves/

Leave a Reply

